The University of Arizona

College of Agriculture and Life Sciences

SNRE Students Win Awards at the SAEMS Scholarship Competition

Monday, April 7, 2014

The following students received awards or recognition at the Southern Arizona Environmental Management Society scholarship competition:

  • Valerie Rountree (Natural Resource Studies) won the 1st place Graduate Award
  • Yee Huang (Water, Society, and Policy), Chase Voirin (Wildlife, Fisheries, and Conservation Biology) and Daphne Szutu (Watershed Management and Ecohydrology) all won Graduate Student Research, Travel, Training & Project Funding.
  • Rachel Wehr (SWES Student in Papuga Lab) won the 3rd place Undergraduate Student Award
  • Emily Pecilunas (Ecology and Management of Rangelands) won the Undergraduate Honorable Mention

The Southern Arizona Environmental Management Society (SAEMS) is a volunteer-run organization, committed to enhancing environmental education opportunities and  developing innovative future environmental leaders.  Th e SAEMS Scholarship Committee consisted of: B.J. Cordova of Tucson Clean & Beautiful, Inc.; Nancy Turner of Turner Laboratories; and Kim Stone, of Sanofi. The committee recently awarded a total of $10,500 in scholarships to several University of Arizona students.

For more information on all SAEMS programs, visit